:: Newest :: Archives :: Notes :: Profile :: D*Land ::



04 January, 2006 - 5:56 a.m.
yogic


I just had the most beautiful experience doing yoga. In my bedroom. In my pajamas. I don't know if you know this, but on Oxygen (a tv channel made for "women", which I typically mock due to its association with the oprah-watching crowd) at 5 am (central) they have a yoga program. daily. I discovered it last night. It's called "inhale". And it's fabulous.

I haven't really been able to enjoy yoga since I finished that class in undergrad. I got a couple of DVDs, all of which were a poor fit for my personality. One of them was the MTV yoga dvd and it was so harsh and up-tempo that I wasn't able to relax to it. Which is the point. The other one was from Gaiam, but I didn't like the pace in that one either. it seemed designed for someone else. And I take my yoga personally. Anyway. A bit of insomnia yesterday (yoga cured my insomnia in the first place) and I flipped through channels to find this guy teaching a yoga class on Oxygen. So I watched it, expecting to be disappointed. And wasn't. Today, I went to their website and foudn the show schedule and have programmed my new DVD-recorder to record it every day.

I was up today while the timer switched on and I did the routine and not only did it kick my ass physiclly (which I embrace), but it felt right. Like it fit with my personality and the speed was good and it had enough variation and he spit out some philopsophy for us to meditate on while doing it. Sweet. I was able to get to that place where there's nothing but silence and it felt so good that I cried.

But it had this part where you're sitting "indian style" and you have your parallel to one another about six inches apart about chest-level and you focus on the space in between and he said you should feel the energy between your hands. I swear to god I did. Like palpable. I was surprised and "dropped" it and couldn't get it back. According to him, if you practice that, you can use that for healing. Neat.

The back of my head feels heavy and my body wants to go back to relaxing, but I had to share that before it got lost in my sleep.

previous - next


Support Bloggers' Rights!
Support Bloggers' Rights!

The information contained herein is mostly true, with details obscured to protect my real identity as a superhero. Facts have been interpreted through the filter of my mind and have been reframed and described in terms of my perspective.