:: Newest :: Archives :: Notes :: Profile :: D*Land ::



14 October, 2005 - 8:54 a.m.
brief commentary


You know, after all of the stuff that's come out since Hurricane Katrina... how the media hyped things up and how we're discovering that most of these things weren't true (or at least weren't true in the proportions that they were reported...), I have trouble believing the article about hospital patients being euthanized. I mean. The flood waters were not toxic. And not as many dead bodies were found in the Superdome. And (probably) not every woman in the Superdome was sexually assaulted or raped. So should I believe that patients were injected with lethal drugs? I don't know. Why can't I believe the news any more?

I did read that only 2% of African Americans support Bush. Now, somehow I can believe that. But should I? Even as much as I don't like the man? And just because it's on the Today Show doesn't mean anything.

I do believe that children who are bullies are more likely than non-bullies to assault someone later in life. That makes perfect sense to me, especially because of the number of bullies I work with at my internship.

Speaking of internship, I have less than 100 hours to go. I should have them completed by the end of this month (but definitely by Thanksgiving). It's been going a lot better lately. With the transition of so many counselors in and out of the place, it's been pretty stressful. We've got another one leaving and they're planning to hire another one. This makes SIX counselors gone since I began my internship in late May. I keep saying that the problem is systemic and that if they don't make changes to the system, they will always have this problem. But what do I know?

I am almost over these viruses. I've gone from feeling like I was swollowing razorblades to feeling like I was swollowing rocks to feeling like I have a bit of sandpaper stuck on one side of my throat. And my inner ear has mostly stopped hurting (virus one). And I've stopped having to run to the bathroom every half hour (virus two). Thank god. I woke up feeling perky and refreshed. But, then again, it's payday.

previous - next


Support Bloggers' Rights!
Support Bloggers' Rights!

The information contained herein is mostly true, with details obscured to protect my real identity as a superhero. Facts have been interpreted through the filter of my mind and have been reframed and described in terms of my perspective.