:: Newest :: Archives :: Notes :: Profile :: D*Land ::



15 December, 2005 - 1:30 p.m.
Beware the Ides of December


So here we are. December 15. 10 Days til Christmas. One Day til Graduation. Depending on your outlook, you may see that I have not even really begun to think about Christmas. So. Tomorrow. Master of Science.

My yankee family arrived this past weekend. I was forced into pictures with my half-sister at the Wal*Mart photo studio for my dad's birthday. Then I visited my yanks at their hotel suite. We rode down Monday to visit my aunt, who was feeling poorly. She went to the doctor and came back in tears. Catscan showed something in her lungs. We thought "cancer" and had a simultaneous family breakdown. We'd been planning to come back home Tuesday, but that was obviously not happening. Instead, I drove my aunt's car back and left it at their hotel, where my car was waiting. She went for another scan Wednesday and they discovered that the things in her lungs were from a previous infection and not, in fact, cancer at all. We rejoiced. Any day when you can say "it's not cancer" is a good day. Especially in this family.

T and I went to the store and ordered my graduation cake, which she'll pick up tonight while I'm out at dinner with the family. We also got a veggie tray and stuff to make a cheese platter. I'd forgotten that this particular store only took Discover Card and had to pay with my check card instead of the Visa I'd been instructed to use. D'oh. Today I'll get various sodas and stuff and liquor for the Saturday party and put THAT on the Visa, because it will come out to about the same amount. Either way. *shrug*

My grandmother had a fit because AGAIN I had to plan my own graduation stuff. She (rightly) believes that someone in my family should have stepped up and done something for me. But no. I had to arrange it all again. For the PhD? Fuck it. I'll be doing whatever the hell I want. Because I'm tired of planning my own festivities. Anyway. Getting dressed and getting ready to go out.

Hooray for graduation.

previous - next


Support Bloggers' Rights!
Support Bloggers' Rights!

The information contained herein is mostly true, with details obscured to protect my real identity as a superhero. Facts have been interpreted through the filter of my mind and have been reframed and described in terms of my perspective.