:: Newest :: Archives :: Notes :: Profile :: D*Land ::



04 March, 2006 - 9:56 p.m.
wedding and all that


my brother is married.

got to my mother's and had to actually talk to her to get my dress. she apologized and cried about what she said on monday, but i didn't cave in and get all mushy. i just told her that i understand where it came from and tht it really hurt my feelings and she apologized for hurting my feelings. which is an improvement. got dressed. wandered around. limo arrived. i didn't know i was supposed to ride in the limo, but we did anyway. i wish i'd taken my own car, but whatever.

got there. no one had prepared anything. garter and tiara were still in boxes, wrapped in plastic. rings weren't tied to ring pillow. and we got there late and they said they were going to start at 1 regardless. so i'm trying to steam the wedding gown while it's hanging on a door that people keep coming in and out of and then i'm trying to steam the train while it's on her, and at least the front looked good.

i went down the aisle and looked at my mother's face and then i looked at my brother, who had a really sensitive look on his face, even though he was clearly high. he'd apparently had three beers, a loritab, and smoked a bowl on the way down there. anyway, i was going to cry, but i regained my composure. and i started laughing at the little kids in the wedding.

you'd think that a wedding in a week would be pretty simple, but no. there were 4 groomsmen and 4 bridesmaids and 2 flowergirls and a ring bearer. and i'm thinking that all of that came out of mom's pocket, and the other bridesmaids are just giving me looks and i have no idea who these people are, but one of them was knocked up.

my dad gave us a ride back to mom's house but didn't stay because my stepmother is a bitch. i'd volunteered to take my sister's friend to work at 4 because it gave me an excuse to leave the festivities. no one could get their shit together. no one had bothered getting refreshments, other than some warm cheese and some crackers and random vegetables. oh and the cake wasn't at the house yet, either. so we stood around for a while and eventually the stuff arrived. and they did the cutting of the cake and pictures and all that crap and we left. i totally avoided the bouquet toss... i'm a pro at avoiding it.

my brother's biological dad (who's never been around) had come to the wedding, and he brought my brother's new 19-year-old stepmother. that's right. you read that correctly. and she was trying to convince me that i needed to go catch the bouquet. me? avoiding it like a disease.

anyway. we left and came back to clarksville. and i'm getting ready for CE's divorce party. i've washed out the bridesmaid hair, but there will be pictures... later rather than sooner, as i forgot to bring my camera. and i messed it up because i took a nap when i got home.

previous - next


Support Bloggers' Rights!
Support Bloggers' Rights!

The information contained herein is mostly true, with details obscured to protect my real identity as a superhero. Facts have been interpreted through the filter of my mind and have been reframed and described in terms of my perspective.