:: Newest :: Archives :: Notes :: Profile :: D*Land ::



15 March, 2006 - 8:36 p.m.
regarding employment


i love my job. i really like my boss. the people i work with (employees) are ok. i feel nurtured and like i have guidance and like i can talk to my boss and actually ask questions about what i'm doing. which i didn't have before. so. sweet.

i bought two treatment planners tonight, as i'm officially diagnosing people and designing my own treatment plans. i bought one specifically for children and one that's pretty generic. i ordered one for adolescents and one for adults. thankfully, i don't have to pay for the latter two until they come in, which will be after i get paid. and i spent $109 on treatment planners today and $30 on books for myself... a book about the process of mistranslating the bible and a book on the history of the NHL. What? girl has to have a hobby. i love me some hockey and i love me some pointing out the errors in the history of religion.

my roommate pointed out that my cats are depressed since i started working again. i thought they were a little mopey, but who can tell with a cat. i mean, they lay around all day anyway. and it's not like they can answer the questions that could give me the official diagnosis anyway. but they're used to me laying around the house all day watching tv and snuggling. maybe they're glad to be rid of me. Who the hell knows. they're cats.

we did A Good Thing yesterday... helped a homeless guy get a place to stay for the night and a ride to the city to a mission that will let him stay there and help him get a job and feed him and help him get clean clothes. he just walked into the clinic. he's not a patient (client, consumer, whatever), so i can talk about it. i feel really good about it. i woke up frustrated this morning because it was cold in my room, and i thought about him and the nights he spent out in the cold without even the option of heat... and i was thankful. this job is good for my soul.

my second week of training is nearly complete... i'll do some official intakes, diagnoses, some federally mandated assessments, and some treatment plans tomorrow. it's kind of all the same process. and it has to be done for everybody. so... i'll be doing that. mostly, i've been learning how to navigate the proprietary software and figuring out how to do it all myself.

i was informed that i'm going to get to go to the company retreat in april... i asked what that entailed and was told that there would be a hay ride, lots of food, and mandatory karaoke. i am so in. i told my boss that if karaoke was involved, you better believe i'm there. you know it. i just giggled at her because she mentioned karaoke and i looked at her and she couldn't read my expression and was apologetic, as if i would be uncomfortable with the activity. so i expressed my enthusiasm.

i'm just really excited about this job. my boss told me today that i was "delightful" and that she was glad i was there. i think i blushed. i told her i'd left the interview really wanting the job, and that i was really happy to be there. i think it's going to be a beautiful thing.

previous - next


Support Bloggers' Rights!
Support Bloggers' Rights!

The information contained herein is mostly true, with details obscured to protect my real identity as a superhero. Facts have been interpreted through the filter of my mind and have been reframed and described in terms of my perspective.