:: Newest :: Archives :: Notes :: Profile :: D*Land ::



24 January, 2006 - 5:19 p.m.
a multitude of doorways


"When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and regretfully on the closed door that we fail to see the one that has opened." - Alexander Graham Bell

With that thought, I bring you the news that the place I was supposed to have an interview with in the morning called and cancelled, as they hired someone today. That person already had a license to practice. Well, I would if someone would give me the chance to get one. A job is sort of essential for that.

I was bummed, so I came downstairs intending to get some cookies, which I made on sunday. There's something about chocolate chip and walnut cookies that makes almost everything at least a little bit better. You can say things like, "well, i don't have a job, but i DO have a cookie." Hooray for that.

On the table by the door was today's mail. Sandwiched between bills and credit card offers was a letter from the State Department of Personnel, inviting me to test for a couple of positions that I'd applied for in October. The thing is that testing only opens so often and you have to wait for it and it takes forever. But. Testing is now open and I have been invited to do so. So. Instead of interviewing tomorrow at that place, my plans have changed. I'll be testing for a job with the state, which would be cool, as state benefits are badass. And my gram worked for the state for 40 years, so it couldn't be that bad, right?

I went from level two moping to level three hopeful.

I think at this point in time, my ability to find something positive in (most) crappy situations is helping keep me sane. And I value it immensely.

Also, I was complimented today when a friend emailed me asking if I knew of resources for cross-dressers. Yes. Yes I do. It's nice to know I've become a sort of community resource bank for cross-dressing and transgendered individuals. Somebody's gotta have the info. And I do, though I am neither.

previous - next


Support Bloggers' Rights!
Support Bloggers' Rights!

The information contained herein is mostly true, with details obscured to protect my real identity as a superhero. Facts have been interpreted through the filter of my mind and have been reframed and described in terms of my perspective.