:: Newest :: Archives :: Notes :: Profile :: D*Land ::



29 January, 2006 - 6:52 p.m.
a job recap


here's what i wrote thursday

ok. so i went downtown to the department of personnel and discovered that they don't take credit at most parking garages... it's ok. there was an atm nearby. good thing i asked when i parked.

i went into the wrong building. i assumed that i had to go to the ___________ building, as that's where EVERYTHING is done, but noooo. I actually had to go into ___ and go upstairs. They said i was ok to take two tests (the paper did), but they didn't have all the jobs i'd applied for linked to me taking those tests. so the girl did that and said that each test should take about three hours. THREE hours. I said ok, figuring that I'd just come back another day and take the other one. I mean, really. What DO I have on my agenda these days?

I was finished in an hour and 15 minutes with the first test. What can I say? I test fast. I always have and, hopefully, always will. So I decided that I should go ahead and take the second test. Bad idea. Well, my brain stopped working. I could no longer hold anything in my working memory and had to keep flipping between screens to figure out what I was doing. I'd get to the one screen with the information on it and forget what the question had said. Crap. I was done in about an hour and a half, though. And of the three things they scored me on, the lowest score I got was an 85. I have no idea what that means in terms of getting a job and job cut-offs. I DO know that it was a top score of 100 and a low "you have to retake this" score of 70. So it seems reasonable that I made a B, which is really the only way I can relate numbers as grades any more. Maybe it's "above 70 and we give you a job"??? I was so braindead when I finished the test that I didn't even ask.

I wonder what sort of numbers stupid people get on these things. I'm a pretty smart chick. My head hurts so much that I can't even read fiction. *sigh*

I wrote this on Friday, regarding Friday's interview...

I went to my interview, based on directions that the guy said were on the webpage. Well, they forgot that they relocated. So I called the guy. It was his home number. His wife gave me a ton of numbers and I eventually found my way to the right place. Basically, it IS part-time. And it's only about $12.50 an hour. And it's an hour away. I don't think so. The people were nice, but they judged me on my youthful appearance as soon as I walked in the door and were pretty surprised with my answers to questions like "what will you say when a parent says to you 'you don't have kids. what makes you think you know what you're talking about?'" and "How have you dealt with the influence of your young appearance in this field?"

Yes. I know. I'm young. I look 18, but I'll be 26 SOON. And no, I don't have much experience, because no one will hire me because I don't have experience. Catch 22. And am I supposed to look worn and haggard? So I use moisturizer. WTF. I have nice skin. *shrug*

I say again, WTF?

And you want me to live off of roughly $200 a week? Really. I'll work retail.

actually, temping sounds better oh and they called and offered me the job. I'm turning it down. i can't live off of part-time. i'm worth more than that. with a masters degree.

previous - next


Support Bloggers' Rights!
Support Bloggers' Rights!

The information contained herein is mostly true, with details obscured to protect my real identity as a superhero. Facts have been interpreted through the filter of my mind and have been reframed and described in terms of my perspective.