:: Newest :: Archives :: Notes :: Profile :: D*Land ::



19 May, 2005 - 3:24 a.m.
SPOILER ALERT!


The first part of this is about the new Star Wars movie. The second is about the book I'm reading.


The movie was better than I expected it to be. That cnn review I posted yesterday was obviously written by someone who hasn't followed Star Wars as closely as I have. Oh, and a correction. Wtf was I thinking when I said Anakin lost his need for a leader in Empire? It was in Jedi. Duh. Sorry, my brain has been off this week. I left the movie kind of down, and I'm not sure if it's because the movie is, in fact, a downer, or if it's because I'm sort of sad that something that I've spent so much time enjoying is over. Or some combination of the two.

Anyway... the story basically makes sense in terms of continuity with the rest of the series. However, some of the acting and dialogue were of questionable talent. I must say that Hayden Christiansen is hottttt. And I will agree with the guy that wrote that article, Ewan McGreggor made the movie worthwhile. They really made a good choice when they cast him in that role. And he's hotttttt.

There was one part where I lost my willing suspension of disbelief (an integral part of enjoying fiction). Natalie Portman was brushing her hair with a wide-bristled brush. Her hair is curly in that scene. That would never work. As someone with curly hair, I resent the lack of knowledge about something real like that. You'd get a bunch of fluff, not pretty curls like she had. But whatever.

Some of the scenes made me want to weep. When Anakin killed the children, that really got to me. When he could have turned back and done the right thing instead-- and didn't-- I really felt it. I think I've carried Star Wars way too close to my heart. People do misguided things in the name of love. I'd like to think that I would win the moral battle and learn to live without the person I love rather than to cause terror and oppression over the entire galaxy. Not that I'm in a position to reign over a galaxy or anything.

That's something I really feel. Morals. Ethics. Like when I ratted out the first year students for breaking confidentiality. Risking loss of friendship because there are ideals that I believe in wholeheartedly. I would have been a great Jedi. But whatever.

There are many things that I would love to do in my life, but don't, because it wouldn't be right. Guilty pleasures are only pleasures while you're doing them. You're left with consequences. This really was a movie about consequences. Weighing your actions to see the best possible option for all involved, not just whatever feels good or brings happiness to yourself. I love it when I find truth in fiction.

I have started reading "A thousand acres" by Jane Smiley. I first read it for an english class my first or second semester of college. It was a great class where you read a classic novel, like "Jane Eyre" and then you read it's modern-day counterpart (which was "Wide Sargasso Sea", by the way, which tells the story of the first Mrs. Rochester). We read "A thousand acres" in conjunction with "King Lear". Both books are about a family situation, in which the father holds his inheritance over the heads of his children with all kinds of other drama. I mean, isn't that what families are about? Drama? The three children (adults, really) are forced in some way to declare their love for their father and from those declarations (or lack thereof) comes consequence.

Somehow last time I lost the beauty of the book. Probably because I was reading it for a class. I missed the romance between the married woman and the guy that returned after many years (not her husband). I missed the tense dynamics of stress between a controlling father and his children, stress I know well in my own life. It's like a highwire balancing act, only you're not sure that the wire is even there, let alone secured properly on each end. And you don't know how far it is to the ground, so you aren't sure if you should be scared by the fall. All you can do is guess, because true consequences reveal themselves in life, not in conjecture.

What would it be like to refuse to declare your love for your father (because he should know after all these years that you do love him) and to lose everything because of it? What is everything? Is it just the inheritance? Money and land? Pah. Or is it that sense of connection between people who are close, like family, and who have always been there for each other. Could I do it without my family? Could I walk away and survive (emotionally) on my own? Just thinking about it makes me feel bereft. Not that my family is this big unified front like these families are. My family routinely separates and forms factions who rage against the other. I've just been pretty good at the juggling act and have not been forced to take sides after all these years. I'm pretty sure, as large as my multi-married and multi-divorced family is, that I would never be left out in the cold all by myself. Somebody would be there.

But the game is all about consequences.

18 May, 2005 - 1:54 p.m.
movies


I thought this was a little ridiculous. But I suppose that businesses have a right to do as they please.

And this author has it wrong when he said, "Of course, this is really the story of how Anakin outgrows his need for masters altogether, becoming a 'dark father' himself." Anakin/Darth doesn't outgrow his master until Empire. I knew that even as a child. However, he did praise my Ewan for his Obi Wan. So, that's good. I have my tickets for tonight already, so I'll let you know tomorrow.

What were they thinking? Did they think they had awesome preview tickets for the night before? Asshats.

18 May, 2005 - 11:03 a.m.
not Jerome


It's a pity, really.

One line for negative. Whew. Two lines would have scared me, as they wound indicate either a baby or another one of these. And we all (ok, many people who read me before the move) remember how fun that was. Remember the experimental procedure I underwent that was an alternative to uterine fibroid embolization? The "experimental procedure" was the same as a vacuum aspiration abortion, thought to be less compromising on later fertility than embolization on younger women. Man. That was a good time. The lack of painkiller and extreme pain... oh yeah. I want to do that again. Thank god for one line. At least now I know that my stomache ills are related to stress.

17 May, 2005 - 11:17 p.m.
The not-so-long awaited Chaotic Drinking Game


Wow, the servers are overloaded tonight. I still can't figure out how to transfer my gold membership over to this account (why am I paying that $2.50 a month? kidding.), so I am still encountering the "hey, wait a minute. the servers are overloaded so you can't post. but gold members can." and I'm still thinking "but I AM a gold member. just let me in." Anyway, everyone must be on posting about the britney and kevin show. That's why I came here, anyway.

T and I watched the show tonight. I thought the show was laughable, but now I'm hooked, so I'll probably watch it for years and years. Dammit. We came up with the Chaotic (that's the name of the show, by the way) Drinking Game. It will require revision once more episodes are played. Ready?

Drink once when:
  • Kevin touches Britney and you want to puke because he's so scummy.
  • Britney does that stupid laugh.
  • Kevin does that stupid laugh.
  • You think, "She's a dirty, dirty whore."
  • Kevin says something stupidly obvious.
  • Britney makes a psychic prediction.
  • You realize your intellectual superiority over both of them (combined).
  • Britney brags about how cool, awesome, amazing (etc.) her hotel room, tour bus, life (etc.) is.
  • Britney talks to Kevin like he's a puppy.
  • You're surprised by her music choice.
Take a shot when:
  • Britney pushes her nose up so it looks like a pig.
  • Britney talks about sex.
  • Britney is smoking.
  • Britney points out paparazzi.
  • You look at Kevin and think, "He needs to (insert personal hygiene here)." Examples include "wash his hair", "shave his face", "wear deoderant".
  • You envision some pre-teen's mom turning off the show because of the content.
  • Every time you think, "I wish I had someone to (insert mundane task here) for me." Examples include "wash my face", "put on my eyeliner", "get me a latte".
Drink and enjoy!

17 May, 2005 - 8:18 a.m.
financial aid hell


I hate the people in the financial aid office. The entered my data wrong in the system and I couldn't validate my registration (my class was supposed to be dropped yesterday because I didn't validate). I checked online to find out when we were supposed to get our disbursement checks and noticed that I needed to validate. I tried to do so, and it had a message saying I needed to call financial aid because my anticipated hours (which I put on the worksheets I turned in last week) didn't match the hours I was registered for.

Part of the problem is that I'm a grad student and the forms are meant for undergrads. So when I mark "half-time", it shows up as 6 anticipated hours, not the 3 required for grad students. So I don't check the boxes. I ask about it every year and they always tell me to write in the number of credits and that I am a grad student, which seems stupid. They should have forms that are appropriate for me and all of the other grad students. But whatever.

So I call the financial aid office to clear up whatever mess it is, and she tells me I've selected 6 credits, but am only registered for 3. So I tell her that I am a grad student and explain about how the forms are wrong every year and that the lady had me just write in "three credits. grad student." on it. I realized I sounded pretty irritated, so I apologized and said that I knew it wasn't her fault and that I knew I sounded kind of upset. She said she would fix it. I started to ask her if I needed to validate still, and she hung up on me! I called right back and asked again. She said I could validate, but not until this afternoon. Let me tell you. They're not exactly winning awards over there for courtesy.

17 May, 2005 - 12:02 a.m.
no man is an island




You're Greenland!
While many people think you're a warmish person, you're actually really cold and forbidding. In fact, you're downright frigid, and you demand that people be tough if they're going to hang out with you.�Despite this rocky personality, you still yearn for more independence than you have, and respect is hard to get even though you have a hard time just surviving day to day.�Of all the pastries in the world, you could live without any more danishes.
Take the Country Quiz at the Blue Pyramid



16 May, 2005 - 3:38 p.m.
so fucking frustrated


I am wondering why the check I deposited on Friday still hasn't shown up in my account yet. The school (who wrote me the check) uses the same bank that I do. Sometimes (most of the time), I hate my bank. I need to pay some damned bills, and that money has to be in there. Argh.

L isn't working again today. This means he will probably be in another pissy mood. Great. I didn't notice him bringing home the classifieds yesterday, either. *shrug* I am getting so irritated about the job situation. It's been two months! I think he's mailed off three resumes and made one or two phone calls. And the pizza delivery thing. That's not exactly stable income.

I am running out of ways to vent my frustration.

16 May, 2005 - 12:24 a.m.
the news makes me angry


US government steralizes undesirables to prevent them from reproducing. The line between America and Nazi Germany blurs further. Oh and here's a chronology or war crimes. And what the hell is wrong with the people at Newsweek? Now they say they "were wrong" about the Koran being desecrated. The problem with this is that few people ever read or believe retractions. Once the initial hype is spread about a story, it is hard to take away the anger felt when reading it.

Went to dinner with the girls tonight. Well, they initially came with me so that I could eat, but we sort of wound up snacking on appetizers and I brought my dinner home for L. I feel like a train wreck. I just took some sleeping pills, so maybe I'll get to sleep at a decent hour tonight. *sigh*

15 May, 2005 - 5:09 p.m.
strange dream


I just woke up from the strangest dream. In my dream, my girl SB lived in Alaska and I flew out to visit her, after having a dream that I visited Seattle and SanFrancisco with my family. We were going to scope out Scotty's house (Gomez, a hockey player). I got there and she lived with my friend H2's parents (but they were really SB's parents in the dream). We went out and I was jet lagged and we went down into the depths of the subway to find some weed. When we came out of the subway, we jumped into a salt water swimming pool and had to shower off while these boys were trying to hit on us and take stuff from our purses. Then her dad drove us to this giant sparkly cathedral, which was really a Nascar museum and we got out to take pictures with my digital camera. She kept joking with me to get somebody's autograph. And I was like, no. We left there and went back to her place and she dropped off her dad and we went back to the subway underground trying to find more drugs or a party or something and we found a goth homeless shelter and got swept into line waiting to get a pen (like a highlighter) that would turn colors if the fabric you wrote on had urine on it. The director of the place wouldn't give me one because I'd never been in Alaska before. And then I woke up.

previous - next


Support Bloggers' Rights!
Support Bloggers' Rights!

The information contained herein is mostly true, with details obscured to protect my real identity as a superhero. Facts have been interpreted through the filter of my mind and have been reframed and described in terms of my perspective.